Year 1 General Studies

Commonwealth Coat of Arms

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia and shows Commonwealth authority and ownership.

It is used by Australian Government departments and agencies, the Parliament and Commonwealth courts and tribunals.





Description of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms

The centre of the shield includes symbols of Australia's six states and the border of the shield symbolises federation.

The shield is held up by the native Australian animals the kangaroo and the emu. They were chosen to symbolise a nation moving forward, based on the fact that neither animal can move backwards easily.

A seven-point gold Commonwealth Star sits above the shield. Six of the star's points represent the Australian states and the seventh point represents the territories.

Australia's floral emblem, the golden wattle, frames the shield and the kangaroo and emu. At the bottom of the shield you will see a scroll containing the word 'Australia'.

Where does it appear?

The Coat of Arms appears on the cover of Australian passports, government buildings and some 50 cent coins. Where have you seen it before?

Year 1 General Studies Commonwealth Coat of Arms

Questions

1. Wh	nat two Australian animals are on the Coat of Arms?
2. Ho	w many points does the Commonwealth Star have? (Circle the answer 5 / 6 / 7
3. The	e shield includes symbols of Australia's six states. True / False
4. Wł	nere would you see the Commonwealth Coat of Arms?
5. Wł	ny were the kangaroo and emu chosen to be on the Coat of Arms?